Follow me to English for Teachers

A diary entry worth reading or What is your talent?

English definition of “talent”

     talent

noun [C or U] (NATURAL ABILITY)    /ˈtæl.ənt/
B1 (someone who has) a natural ability to be good at something, especially without being taught:
 http://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/british/talent_1?q=talent’

I teach a pre-intermediate teens class. The guys are a bunch of creative keen people. One of the girls, Sonia, compiled a video, which I think is incredible. You will have a pleasure to enjoy it at the end of the post.

Pre-phrase: Inspired by a magazine article I had read last August we started Journal writing in this class. Unfortunately, I cannot recollect which magazine it was. Later Sandy Millin and Ann Loseva added enthusiasm to foster journal writing in my classes.

So we watched Sonia’s video at the end of our lesson the other day. Some of the girls found it moving, and so did I. As the result of exchanging words of gratitude to Sonia: ‘This video made my day’ said one of the girls, I asked the students two questions to answer in their diaries.

‘What is talent?’ and ‘What are your talents?’

Finding the answer to the second question was a real struggle for most of the students, but one. Here is her diary entry:

Diary Entry by V

What a happy girl she must be, she is aware of her talents. I do believe every person is as talented as V. It is that we are sometimes afraid of acknowledging what our gifts are for a variety of reasons such as laziness, fear of failure, or low self-esteem that we cannot even let the idea of us being gifted enter our mind.

In my opinion, talent is something you are really good at and you enjoy doing it a lot.

Just as the rest of the class, I found it a tough question to answer. As soon as I come up with an answer I will share it here.

Now I would like to ask you to answer the questions: What is talent? What are your talents?

3 comments on “A diary entry worth reading or What is your talent?

  1. annloseva
    February 2, 2014

    Hello Natalia and Alex,

    Thanks for mentioning this post from my blog. It is indeed also about talent.))
    I ‘d probably add.. that talent needs to be fed and nurtured. While finding out what your talent is is definitely a huge step (which not everybody takes in their lifetime at all I guess), it is still crucial to keep working on it.=)

    Thanks for writing this. Keep teaching with enthusiasm and blog on.

    Ann

    • followme2english2
      February 3, 2014

      Thank you for your comment and kind words, Ann!

      You’re absolutely right, any talent requires determination. And from what I see most of English teachers are really determined and encourage students to pursue their talents!

      Alex

  2. Sandy Millin
    February 5, 2014

    Thank you for linking back to that post, and what a great journal entry! Definitely a question I’ll use with my students.
    Sandy

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
