Follow me to English for Teachers

Rhyming Body Language

MontenegroIf to imagine English as an ocean, then coursebooks are lifesaving islands, at least for students. Most of teachers feel secure being on an island too. But from time to time teachers should take their students on a boat trip and let them have an invaluable experience of swimming in the ocean even though not far from their island.

Of course, there are great captains who will welcome students on board of the oceangoing Dogme yacht, but I would like to share my experience of a one-lesson-boat trip.

In one of my groups, we learnt a bunch of body language verbs, so that I invited the students to a body language verbs trip.

I told students a story while miming the actions. They tried to retell it.

Yesterday I bumped into my friend.

He waved at me, we hugged then kissed and shook our hands.

We went along a busy street

Holding hands, not looking under our feet.

Then he stopped and looked at me,

He shook his head and beckoned me.

I shrugged my shoulders, gave him a nod

And followed him saying not a single word

He winked at me and satisfied pointed at something not that far

Heavy door, bowing man, lovely picture from the past.

I understood, I smiled, patted my friend on the back.

He took me to the place where we used to spend our free weekends.

We took our seats, ordered tasty treats and then

We talked and talked and talked again

Crossing legs and folding arms, laughing, crying, repeating stories twice.

It got dark, he stood up, gave my smile the thumbs up

And off he went through heavy door leaving me with happy tears in my cup.

Then I told the story again, but this time we mimed the actions together.

The last time I told the story with some gaps, mostly focusing on prepositions that follow the verbs, the learners filled the gaps orally.

The next step was some controlled written practice. The Students filled in the gaps and read the story aloud.

Yesterday I _________ into my friend .

He waved _____ me, we hugged then kissed and _______ our hands.

We went along a busy street

_______ hands, not looking under our feet.

Then he stopped and looked at me,

He shook his _______ and beckoned me.

I ________ my shoulders, gave him a _____

And followed him saying not a single word

He ________ at me and satisfied pointed _____ something not that far

Heavy door, bowing man, lovely picture from the past.

I understood, I smiled, _______ my friend on the back.

He took me to the place where we used to spend our free weekends.

We took our seats, ordered tasty treats and then

We talked and talked and talked again

________ legs and folding _____, laughing, crying, repeating stories twice.

It got dark, he stood up, gave my smile the _______ up

And off he went through heavy door leaving me with happy tears in my cup.

We discussed how the story made them feel, whether they retold the story trying to rhyme the lines or not, how easy it was to retell it and why so?

As a follow-up, I asked them to write their own stories and here are the two stories my class made up.

And one of the students, Vera, recorded my story too.

I will be glad if this story can be of use in your classroom. I will also be glad to get your comments.

Alex

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 10, 2013 by in Lesson ideas.
